Google makes it easier to understand what incognito mode is

Google’s making it easier for you to see what incognito mode means. You’re not invisible online, but your browsing history is deleted  

Whether it’s Chrome, Firefox, or Safari, all modern browsers offer an incognito mode for private browsing. But while you can don the glasses-and-hat disguise to hide a bit, it won’t cover your tracks nearly as much as you might think. 

What is Incognito mode? 

Incognito mode is a private window within your regular browser — a place to surf the internet without your history being saved on your device when your browsing session ends. Cookies, which are little bits of identifying data that follow you around the internet, and other traces from your browsing history aren’t saved either after you end your private browsing session. 

Google is in the process of updating the wording of the introductory text that appears on new Incognito tabs. The change is coming to both the desktop and mobile versions of the company’s web browser, and the updated text makes it much clearer that using Incognito Mode does not mean that you are invisible online. 

With the updated wording, new Incognito tabs advise users about what will happen to certain browsing data when the tabs are closed.